Growing closer to God

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” – Jeremiah 29:11-13

Romans 12:1-2 tells us emphatically that the process of filling our minds with the knowledge of God not only brings us closer to Christlikeness, but obedience to that knowledge aligns us with the perfect will of God: “Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

James 4:7,8 – Subject yourselves, therefore, to God; but oppose the Devil, and he will flee from YOU.  Draw close to God, and he will draw close to YOU …

Psalm 46:10 There are times to speak up and take action–but sometimes it’s important to just humbly sit back and silently reflect on God’s presence. This psalm encourages us to take time to meditate quietly in the assurance that God is in control.

2 Chronicles 7:14 If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

My Prayer this evening: 

Our Lord! We have wronged our own souls: If thou forgive us not and bestow not upon us Thy Mercy, we shall certainly be lost. O our Lord! Truly Thou dost know what we conceal and what we reveal: for nothing whatever is hidden from You, whether on earth or in heaven. Truly no one despairs of God’s Soothing Mercy, except those who have no faith. Truly distress has seized me, but Thou art the Most Merciful of those that are merciful.  O Our Lord! Make us not subject to persecution of the unjust people, and deliver us by Your mercy from the unbelieving people. Amen.

2 responses to “Growing closer to God

  1. Pingback: Fun at the Farm – Patterns | Prayers and Promises·

  2. Pingback: My Awesome God | terry1954·

Leave a comment